The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) gives non-binding advice on school priorities and budgetary issues.

The team is comprised of elected and appointed members, including parents, teachers, non-instructional school staff, and community members.

The LSAT advises the principal on matters such as the allocation of school resources, the organization of the school, curriculum options including special or supplementary course offerings and specialized research-based instructional strategies, budget decisions, priorities and considerations for staffing patterns and the selection of personnel, and the overall monitoring of student progress, school culture, and family engagement.

All LSAT meetings, which are typically held on the first Wednesday of each month at 7:30 a.m., are open to observers.

See DCPS LSAT guidelines here. Recent minutes are available below.

LSAT Meeting Dates

November 8, 2017
December 8, 2017
January 12, 2018
February 9, 2018 (tentative)
March 9, 2018
April 13, 2018
May 11, 2018
June 8, 2018


2017-18 LSAT Members
Parent Representatives

Dave Gessert (Chair)
Kathryn Young
Rae Robinson Trotman
Julia Cohen

Community Representative

Tom Martella


Carrie Broquard

Teacher/Staff Representatives

Donna Culver
Laura Pajor
Dina Shapiro
Cara Skubel

HSA Representatives

Chris Lisi
Margaret Lidstone

Washington Teachers Union Building Representative

Jared Catapano

To see LSAT meeting minutes, click here.